Potent Quotables

The tone of my latest posts has been rather dark. I would like to follow up by simply letting the words of others far worthier than I speak for themselves. I believe they will be equally touching to you as they are and have been to me. Again, some timely words of wisdom and insight.

From The Velveteen Rabbit, written by Margery Williams:

He said, “You become. It takes a long time. That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept. Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby. But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”

Those words are from one of my all time favorite stories. Reading such passages as an adult reminds me of its importance and purpose in my life. (This also makes me consider doing little segments on my favorite children’s books. I’m a sucker for children’s books and stories. Hmm. Yes. I think I’ll do that. Don’t let me forget, friends! – Speaking of which, I need something to call my friends here. “Readers” sounds lame. “My dears” sounds icky and ancient and like I’m about to make doilies for you. Anyway. Damn, can I digress.)

Next up is this beauty from Wendell Berry. It’s called “The Peace of Wild Things.”

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.

I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

Isn’t that lovely? It makes me smile and sigh and weep and ponder. And it reminds me of how I feel when I commune with nature. It makes me feel whole and alive and part of something precious and magnificent. And that makes me feel simultaneously small and important.

So I will make time, this weekend. I will make time to commune with nature. Even if it’s just in my back yard with The Veggie Patch. My soul yearns for the outdoors. I would be wise to heed its call.

7 thoughts on “Potent Quotables

  1. Morning my dear FRIEND I hope you had a good nights rest, and have a wonderful time in nature………

    We do not remember days.

    We remember moments…

    May you have a day filled with Happy Moments to last in your memory forever…

    Have a Great Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you, Klip! And thank you for the thoughts – it’s true, you know. It’s the moments we remember. Just as it’s the little things that turn out to have been the grandest ones of all.

      I hope you had a marvelous Saturday. 🙂

      Like

  2. Don’t regret knowing the people that come into your life…

    Good people give you Happiness,

    Bad ones give you Experience.

    The Worst ones give you Lessons,

    And the Best ones give you Memories!

    Liked by 1 person

Lay it on me!

